What is the law and fine for wearing seatbelts?
Ten ($10) dollars for driver and adult passengers. Adult includes everyone from
age eight and older. A citation for anyone under age 16 is given to the driver
of the vehicle.
Seat belt law
Any automobile sold in the state of
Wisconsin must be equipped with safety belts.
All drivers of motor vehicles
and all passengers over the age of four must wear safety belts.
apply to Wisconsin residents and non-residents alike in all front seat positions
and in rear seat positions with three-point belts. Children under four are
required to be restrained in an appropriate child safety restraint (see Child
Currently, Wisconsin has what is known as a secondary
enforcement seat belt law. It allows law enforcement to ticket a driver for not
belting up only after the person has already been stopped for some other
A standard, or primary enforcement seat belt law would allow
police to stop and ticket a driver for not wearing a seat belt, just like any
other routine traffic violation.
Where a primary enforcement law exists,
seat belt usage is higher. States such as California and North Carolina have
realized a significant increase in safety belt usage (to 80 % in North Carolina)
through the combination of a primary law and an aggressive awareness and
Wisconsin law provides for a fine of $10 and no points
are assigned against a person's driver record. Those subject to the penalty
include drivers, drivers with unrestrained passengers 4 to 16 years old and
passengers at least 16 years old.
The penalty for violating the child
passenger law involving a child under the age of 4 is not less than $30 or more
than $75. The penalty for violating the child passenger law involving a child
between the ages of 4-8 is not less than $10 or more than $25.